Potatoes are a sometime food.


Gotta love Cookie Monster!!! I believe that there are some things in our diets that should be sometimes foods and some that should be never foods. I have an app on my Blackberry that lists the calories and fat content of many popular restaurant dishes. So as car “entertainment” one day I read the content of some of my husbands favorite dishes to him. His favorite before he became vegan was the Steak Gorgonzola-Alfredo Pasta from Olive Garden, 1,310 Calories and 73 Fat Grams!!!! Needless to say we were shocked. Once you arm yourself with that knowledge it’s difficult to indulge in the same types of food.

In thinking about this I came up with my own lists: A No Fly List, for foods that I do not consume and a No Buy List, for foods that I do not bring into my home but will indulge in “sometimes”. I really do believe that once I threw willpower out the window and empowered myself with good information, eating well became a breeze. For instance saying “I can’t eat that” vs. “I don’t eat that” are two very different statements. Can’t implies a “would if I could” attitude whereas, don’t says, I know what that food does to my body so… I DON’T allow it in my home or body.

I recently decided that I will no longer buy potato chips or frozen tater tots. If they are in my house I will eat ALL of them…with dip. I know this about myself so they hold no space in my cabinets. However, a world without tater tots is a sad sad place so I do on occasion indulge in them. Now, I do not buy or consume certain foods at any point. Some things in my mind are just not worth it. We all know ourselves and can decide for ourselves what we add to our own lists.

Treats are treats… have them and then move on to your next healthy choice. That’s my two cents for the moment:)

Here are two of the recipes that I promised, I will post the lettuce wraps later this weekend.

Carrot Ginger Dressing recipe (this is a recipe that I found online and tweaked until I loved it.)

I serve this with Fantastic Foods Nature Burgers over salad or in wraps.

3 Medium Carrots
1/4 cup peeled chopped fresh ginger
1/4 cup chopped shallots
1/4 cup seasoned rice vinegar
1 tbsp soy sauce
1 tbsp + the oil Tahini paste
1/8 tsp salt
1/2 cup canola oil
1/4 cup water
Add carrots to food processor and pulse until finely chopped then add the rest of the ingredients except oil and water. Pulse to chop and then stream the oil while motor is running. Add water and blend until smooth.

Vegan “Egg” Salad (from How it all Vegan! by Tanya Barnard & Sarah Kramer)

1 lb medium tofu, mashed
1/2 cup soy mayonnaise (my fave is veganaise)
4 tbsp chopped parsley
1-2 pickles, diced or 1/4 cup relish
1 1/2 tbsp prepared mustard (I like Dijon in this)
1-2 stalks celery, diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp turmeric

In a medium bowl, mash the tofu with your hands or fork and add the remaining ingredients. Mix together well and chill before serving.

I have yet to have someone not love the carrot ginger recipe. As for the “egg” salad my VERY non-vegan mom liked this recipe and more shocking still my 5-year-old daughter loves it! Don’t be scared:)

Thanks so much for reading, hope you enjoy these new ideas and recipes.

Much Love,

Your Vegan Friend

2 thoughts on “Potatoes are a sometime food.

  1. Well said. Glad I read it. Of course, now I have a cookie craving 🙂 Probably not what your post intended. LOL. Thanks for the recipes.

  2. Pingback: Save a Pig, eat some tempeh! | your vegan friend

Leave a Reply

