“Exercise: you don’t have time not to”


The quote in the title is by an unknown author. Here’s one more:

Those who do not find time for exercise will have to find time for illness.
— Earl of Derby

On Monday my daughter woke up with a fever which left us house bound for the day. She is fine and the fever must have done it’s job and fought whatever was in her system because by Tuesday we were A-Okay!

I am especially good at talking myself out of a workout. “We are stuck at home, the kids are crazy, I’m tired, I’ll do extra tomorrow…” you name it. However, I know that Monday of all days, is a terrible day to get off track. So I decided to get over my excuses and just do it! I found a great Jillian Micheals workout On Demand, put the kids down to rest and got to sweatin’.

This got me thinking of all the ways one could get in a good workout. Leave your excuses at the door:)

Here are Ten ways to get some fitness into your day:

1. Check out fitness DVD’s from the Library (they have several, I checked) or from Netflix, you can also borrow great fitness books from the library. FREE!

2. Buy a fitness DVD/kit with all of the equipment you need for a home workout. Or, look at Goodwill, Garage Sales etc…

3. Join a Gym. For my mom friends, many gym’s have childcare. My YMCA allows 2 hours daily for childcare. It is clean, they offer great crafts and activities for my children and even Yoga twice a week. Most of the teachers are mom’s and my kids love going. The YMCA also offers a sliding scale membership based on your income. Many mom’s that I know work in the childcare one day a week (with their children) for a deep discount.

4. Swap workout DVD’s with friends. Better yet, get together and do them. Working out is much more fun with a friend.

5. Find a neighbor to go walking with at night after the kids go to bed. If you have no children, just go for a walk/run anytime.

6. You can do basic calisthenics anywhere!!! Push-ups, sit-ups, plank, triceps dips, squats, lunges etc… get moving while you watch TV at night.

7. Involve your children. My kids enjoy doing my Pilates DVD, the little Girl follows along to most of it and the crazy Boy just jumps all over and has a blast. (my only rule is “no jumping on mommy while I am working out”) How wonderful to let your children see you being active!

8. Subscribe to a fitness magazine (many are just $10 a year) and try new workouts monthly.

9. youtube or google it. I have workout apps on my phone.

10. DO Something!!!!!! Bikeride, jumping jacks, hula hoop, jump rope, roller skate/blade, swim… you get the idea.

There is always some way on any given day that you can be active. The key is to make it a priority in your day and in your life. You do not need anything fancy, just the will to be healthy. After my workout on Monday I felt fantastic, accomplished and ready to tackle the rest of the afternoon. It feels great to push past excuses/circumstance and do what is best for our health!!!

Here’s to life without excuses:)

Much Love,

Your Vegan Friend

Leave a Reply

