A Time for Everything


Hello All! I am back from vacation and ready for all things routine!

I am starting a new routine this week. Shaking up our routines can be a great thing. Our bodies and minds plateau after a while and a shake up can revitalize workouts. I am going back to some Pilates, yoga and trying my legs at spin class. I even borrowed a Pure Barre DVD that literally kicks my behind when I can’t leave the house. New recipes are also on the agenda. This week I am going to try to recreate a black-eyed pea and collard green soup from Whole Foods and a grilled zucchini I had while on vacation (aka, parenting with palm trees)…if you pack children and a food processor it’s not a vacation:) I’ll post the recipes if they work.

In other news. This is a sentimental week. My sweet little girl will start kindergarten on Thursday. That in and of itself is very bittersweet. It’s odd to send your child that you have held in your arms and watched almost everyday of their lives off to someone elses care. This week also marks the one year anniversary of the death of a very dear friend of mine and my husbands.

Both of these events have caused some reflection on time. The past six years with my little girl seem to have flown by. All of a sudden, I feel as though I need more time, just a few more days, hours, weeks… more time to teach, instill confidence and give endless hugs and kisses. I know my time to do these things has not ended with my daughter, but things will undoubtedly change. I miss my friend. I miss him most for his wife and his young children who still need him so much. I hate that he doesn’t have more time. But, we do.

We have time to live. I not only have time to love up on my children, I have time to make my life the best it can be. I’m here. While we are here why not live well. Eat well, take care of the bodies we have been given. My friends untimely death taught me that I can’t in good conscience take my life or health for granted.

I don’t say all of this to preach. Just to reflect in print. I hope that the start of this new school year can bring about positive change for us all. Kind of a New Years do over if you will. Kick those bad summer habits to the curb and use the fall routine as a kickstart to some healthier choices.

Here’s to looking ahead and savoring our precious time.

Much Love,

Your Vegan Friend

6 thoughts on “A Time for Everything

  1. I think that is awesome! I was just thinking the other day that my “year” doesn’t start until school does. LOL I am making some changes as well and I’m very excited about it. I started insanity yesterday and I am now on a mission to find healthier recipes for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

  2. Great post. I know what you mean about trying to fit in more time with Vivi, more hugs, more SOMETHING. Caleb starts K too and last week I had an ourdoor photo session for their yearly pictures, and I also asked the photographer to take a picture of us walking towards the playground. When I first quit work to stay home with the boys, we were walking in that field and Caleb was teetering around on 1 year old legs and I stopped in my tracks and realized, “I’m here for this! I get to see this!”. So that photo with both boys running (away from me, of course) through the field, will be my way of visually bottling the mixed-up emotions that this season stirs- honoring all that we’ve been through, as well as the necessary letting go. Here’s to the great, wide open that awaits our precious kids!

  3. I’m sorry about your friend. It sounds like he was too young to die. We all definitely take life for granted. Our health is a top priority. We can do our best to take care of ourselves so that ultimately we can be around for our loved ones for a long time.

Leave a Reply

