Being a Vegan does not suck!


Bill Clinton

Hi All,

I know that I have been MIA for a while. Just getting into the swing of kindergarten and pre-school, lost a week or so reading the Hunger Games trilogy and making lots of delicious vegan food of course:)

I saw Bill Clinton on the Today Show this morning and at the end of the interview Matt Lauer asked him if being a vegan sucked. For those of you who don’t know, President Clinton switched to a vegan diet after his quadruple bypass surgery. Mr. Clinton laughed and said that when you are 65 you hope for good (health) days and he has a lot of good days. The general consensus seems to be that vegan = deprivation, tasteless food, tofu and general suckiness. That’s what I am here for. To lead you to some healthy, tasty foods and facts that will chip away at any reservations or misconceptions you may have.

Today was rainy and chilly and I was craving some comfort food. I made vegan shepherds pie. I sautéed some onion, garlic, celery, carrots, baby bella mushrooms and soy crumbles (I like Boca). Seasoned this with some salt, turmeric and thyme and simmered in a cup of veggie broth until carrots are soft. I then thickened with a little cornstarch and unsweetened almond milk (you could also use rice or soy). Instead of topping with mashed potatoes which are not always the healthiest choice I steamed a head of cauliflower and one turnip and mashed with some Earth Balance buttery spread a little tofutti cream cheese and salt and pepper. Pour the veggies into a casserole dish and top with the mash. I baked it at 350 for a few minutes just to set it a bit. This is a delicious, much lighter version of a usually heavy comfort meal.

Tomorrow my book club is coming over and I am making red beans and kale over brown rice with a jalapeno cilantro aioli. Wednesday is a steamed veggie and quinoa bowl with garlic sauce, Thursday vegan penne vodka and Friday all of the delicious leftovers:)

I would love to share recipes, articles, video’s and such with all of you on a more regular basis. I read things everyday that I want to shout from the rooftop. So, instead of being a really annoying neighbor I have decided to start a Facebook Fanpage. I can then share whenever the mood strikes without having to spend all the time it takes to blog. I will still be blogging a few times a month, but I thought this would be a more effective way to share info. So if you like my blog PLEASE like Your Vegan Friend on Facebook and if you really like me suggest me to a friend.

Thanks so much for reading!

Much Love,

Your Vegan Friend

2 thoughts on “Being a Vegan does not suck!

  1. Good for Bill Clinton!! When my mom first started her eating vegan, she stopped eating meat, pork and chicken. She ate some eggs, milk in her coffee, and some fish. She did this for years. Then in 1997, she had a gynecological cancer. Had a hysterectomy. She revamped her diet. She went 100% vegan after that.

    Growing up in an Asian household, soy and gluten / bean curd products are normal for us. I’m not into soy — I think it causes health problems down the road. My mom then had problems with her thyroid.

    My sister was diagnosed with breast cancer last summer. My aunt just had a mastectomy last month. It made me re-evaluate my diet which was relatively healthy. I do have the eggs, some fish and milk for my coffee. I do want to give it up entirely. There’s alot things. Still trying to find what works.

Leave a Reply

