What’s in a Name?


Chocolate “Wacky” Cake

Hi Friends,

I am veering from my normal posting schedule to write this little post and a treat:)

Why do I call myself “Your Vegan Friend”? More than being cute or catchy, it’s true. I aim to be your friend, not your judge. My goal in writing this blog has always been to shed light on and simplify healthy eating. I have been eating and living this way for five years and love sharing my tips with all of you.

I have had a pretty good track record these past few years. I have several friends and even my husband choose healthier lifestyles. These changes have not happened by making gagging noises when they eat meat or from bombarding them with propaganda. I believe it’s because the food is easy to prepare, tastes good and happens to be healthy as well. Healthy living becomes a no brainer when these factors work together.

I may be skinny, but I am not a skinny bitch. I may be vegan, but I am not the vegan police. My dream is to be a facilitator of change, a guide and an example. I am happiest when I am feeding someone food that surprises them. The adrenaline of a great meal that is also healthy is, for me, like winning the big game.

If you are looking to change your diet, looking for long-lasting change, I believe there is a great and fairly simple solution. At the risk of sounding cheesy AND stealing a line from a diamond commercial, you have a friend in the vegan/healthy eating business. Please contact me if you need some assistance in this area of your life. You may be surprised at how simple this can be. No, white knuckle dieting here, just tasty, whole food!

To prove that I am your friend and not your foe, I am here to offer you a recipe. What kind of friend would say no to eating cake on occasion? Some events beg for chocolate cake, not the whole cake, mind you, but delicious, decadent share with your besties kind of cake.

This is the chocolate cake my mom made my whole life. We called it Wacky Cake. I was pleasantly surprised to discover later in life that it is a vegan recipe. This cake is not even close to being healthy. Don’t mistake this. Bake it, eat it, thoroughly enjoy it and move on to your next healthy choice!

Wacky Cake

3 Cups All Purpose White Flour

2 Cups White Sugar

6 TBSP Cocoa Powder

2 TSP Baking SODA

1 TSP Salt

2 TSP Vanilla

2 TBSP White Vinegar

12 TBSP Canola Oil (yes 12)

2 Cups Water

Mix all dry ingredients and make 3 wells in the bowl

Pour the vanilla in one well, vinegar in the next and oil in the third well.

Pour the water over the entire mixture and mix well.

Pour into two round greased cake pans.

Bake at 350 until a toothpick comes out clean. (about 25 minutes…depends on your oven, watch closely to not over bake)

Let cool and frost with your favorite chocolate frosting.

Enjoy and much love,

Your Vegan Friend

One thought on “What’s in a Name?

Leave a Reply

