No Fry Zone


Hi Friends!

I am slowly catching up with my recipes on the blog. I try as much as I can to avoid frying and excess oil in my cooking. I now bake my sweet and white potato wedges. My Gobi Manchurian (crispy cauliflower in an asian BBQ sauce) is now breaded and baked. I have even started making my own tortilla chips and tostadas by spritzing the corn tortillas with small amounts of oil and seasonings of choice and baking until crispy. It is amazing how well veggies saute with a bit of veg broth or just a light spray of oil. 1 tbsp of olive oil has about 119 calories. Oil is calorie and fat dense and I prefer to spend my precious calories on more nutrient rich food. I get my healthy fats in avocado, nuts, flax and chia seeds.

This “fried” rice dish is fast, simple, gluten-free and full of great flavor. Feel free to sub any veggies that you and your family enjoy in this dish. It is very customizable and can be made with whatever you have on hand. I have honestly become a bit obsessed with this easy meal. I almost always have the ingredients so we have been eating it a lot lately.

loads of veggies!

loads of veggies!

3 Cups prepared Brown Rice

2 Cups Shredded Cabbage or shredded brussels sprouts or bok choy (go crazy with cabbage:))

1 Cup Shredded Carrots

1/2 cup peas

1 cup broccoli florets

3 Green Onions chopped (whites and greens)

1 Tbsp peeled and chopped fresh ginger

2 cloves garlic chopped

1/4 Cup Gluten Free Soy Sauce

1/4 Cup Sherry Wine or Cooking Sherry

a few squirts of siracha

1 tsp sesame oil

1 – 2 Tbsp corn starch

Combine green onions, ginger, garlic, soy sauce, sherry, siracha, sesame oil and cornstarch and whisk. Set aside

Heat a non-stick skillet and spritz pan with some canola oil. Add all remaining veggies and saute for about 5 minutes, move veggies to one side of the pan and add the rice and sauce. Stir to combine and warm all ingredients.

Salt to taste

You can garnish with sesame seeds, slivered almonds and even some fresh green onion.

Serve and Enjoy

Veggie "Fried" Rice

Veggie “Fried” Rice

My son happily eating this vegetable filled rice:)

My son happily eating this vegetable filled rice:)

I served this with baked tofu. I simply press the drain the tofu, wrap in a clean kitchen towel and place on a plate in the fridge for a few hours. Slice the tofu in quarter-inch thick slices. Brush with some soy sauce and spray with some non-stick spray(or brush with a small amount of canola oil) and bake at 400 for 25 minutes or until browned and a bit crispy.

My kids dip it in mustard or ketchup. I will sometimes make my husband and I some siracha mayo with veganaise and siracha chili sauce. Delicious!

I hope you enjoy this meal and some of the other oil free suggestions here. I’ll be back soon with some additional recipes. If you enjoy these posts please like me on Facebook for more frequent updates, pictures, tips and recipes.

Thanks for reading.

Much Love,

Your Vegan Friend

Leave a Reply

